I’m back.

I have definitely let my blog posting lapse lately.  It’s been ages–I honestly kind of figured I was just done with this blog and should let it die.  I’ve been really busy with work and and home and working on my masters degree.  Oh, and having a baby.  (Okay, so that part just happened last week, but it’s a pretty big deal to me.)  Plus, I just hit one of those spots where I couldn’t think of anything I really wanted to say.

But when I checked my Google reader recently, I found a blog by one of my favorite authors, Silas House.  He has committed to discovering something new every day for a month and blogging about it. The idea inspired me, and although I can’t guarantee that I will be able to post every day, I decided to try to share some of my discoveries here on the blog.  Probably most of my discoveries will have to do with parenting, since figuring out how to be a good mom and spending time with my beautiful daughter (I love how that sounds!) are occupying most of my time lately.

I had no idea how much I would love parenthood.  There are a million tiny things every day to discover and wonder at.  One of my favorite things over the past week is watching her learn to breastfeed.  She’s so trusting and loving in everything she does, but especially in her eating.  As she eats, she reaches behind her ear to where my hand is supporting her head and she wraps her tiny fingers around mine, or she just touches my hand.  It’s so humbling to watch her reach back to find security in my touch, and to see how much she depends on me to fulfill her basic needs.

2 Comments

Filed under Parenting

2 responses to “I’m back.

  1. Joe

    I hope you love it on the not so good days too. There’s nobody I’d rather parent with!

  2. Amy

    That’s beautiful Julie. Glad you are enjoying it. As Joe implies, not all of the moments are wonderful…but there are enough to remind us of why we do it. So, you guys have fun, enjoy…and thanks for the link to the Silas House blog. I didn’t know about it and I really enjoy his books also.

Leave a Reply

