The Perfect Job

Good Morning, America!  Watching GMA is one of the highlights of every vacation for me.  In fact, I am such a huge nerd about it that I asked my husband to make sure I was awake before he left for work today, to ensure that I got to watch at least an hour of it.  I don’t really watch straight through–being the ultimate multi-tasker, I pretty much don’t do that with any TV show anymore.  I read, write, check e-mail, and, of course, eat cookies through the whole thing, but I love listening to it even when my eyes aren’t on the screen.  And I love GMA because there are always a couple of stories that catch my attention and draw me away from whatever else I am doing while watching.

This morning, one of the things that caught my attention was an interest inventory Robin Roberts did to analyze her personality and predict the other careers she could have had.  Aptitude tests always interest me, because I like having someone tell me about myself.  I know what I think about me, but I tend to be incredibly short-sighted about myself.  I always overlook a lot of possibilites, and usually these tests smack me with some insight about why I behave the way I do.

I realize that’s ironic, because the tests themselves are often very-short sighted.  Of course Robin’s results didn’t tell her she should be a host on GMA, and she’s brilliant at it.  There are too many amazing jobs out there for a test to be able to cover them all, so they tend to stick to generics.  Be a coach, a computer programmer, a chef, a radio announcer.  A teacher.

I’m bothered by the career aptitude tests though, because I dislike the myth that your job defines you, that there’s one perfect job out there that will make you happy forever.  I love my job.  I spend a lot of time and attention on it, and it’s very fulfilling.  But there are many parts of my life that have nothing to do with it, and I find those parts to be extremely satisfying too.  I’m grateful for my job and feel very lucky that I get to do it.  But ultimately, contentment has to come from God.

2 Comments

Filed under Commentary

2 responses to “The Perfect Job

  1. Teresa

    I agree wholeheartedly with your last sentence. I was trying to explain to someone last night something similar, except not with work but rather relationships. He was complaining that he was unhappy, and when I asked what would make him happy, he said having a loving relationship. I was trying to explain that it’s impossible to be happy in the long run when all of your happiness is solely dependent upon somebody else (in this case, a job). But I guess it’s hard to explain that to somebody that doesn’t really have a relationship with God in the first place.

    Anyway.. long story short, I agree with you. 🙂

  2. juliekay

    Yeah, you’re right….and I still have trouble with it myself, after having had a relationship with God for 21 years now. It’s just not how we’re programmed. But the older I get and the longer I work on it, the more sense it all makes.

Leave a Reply

