High School Flashbacks

A while ago, I wrote a blog about elementary school memories.  Today, since I have to spend my afternoon grading papers, I have high school on my mind.  Here is a list of some unforgettable high school moments.

1.  The first day of school, riding the waves of students through the crowded halls.  I finally spied an upperclassman I knew from band and suddenly felt at home.

2.  Helping to push that huge couch from room to room during Author’s Banquet so my friend could sit on it while she gave her Emily Dickinson presentation.  I was Jane Austen.  I wore a very flattering bonnet.

3.  A teacher who recited a list of the curse words we were never allowed to say in her class. 

4.  Managing to get over the whole permed-hair craze.  I had some very unfortunate experiences with perms in middle school.

5.  Reading the Christy Miller books again and again and again and sighing with my friends about how our school had no one like Todd.

6.  Staggering off the field at a band practice, nearly passing out, because I had only eaten M&M’s for lunch.  I did things like that frequently–not really eating lunch, I mean.  Because then I could save my lunch money and buy magazines.  Sigh.

7.  My friend sitting behind me in Algebra II, flicking my hair with her pencil and fuming because she couldn’t find any split ends.

8.  Riding in the back of someone’s truck to Amanda’s house after a band practice.  She took a big drink of water and spit it over the side of the truck, only we were going fast and the whole mouthful hit me in the face.

9.  Getting my permit and crying because I’d been too busy reading for the previous 16 years to notice how to get anywhere in my small hometown.  This infuriated my father and he refused to give me any directions, so we drove in circles while I bawled.

10.  And finally–just for you, Marla–the noisy clicking eraser that I used to annoy my friends.  I never said I was cool.

3 Comments

Filed under Education, Memories

3 responses to “High School Flashbacks

  1. barboo77

    I can totally sympathize with the perm phase. It took me about five years of perms looking horrible after the first time I washed them and I actually had to fix my hair myself for me to realize that perms are a bad idea.

  2. juliekay

    Wow, mine were terrible…I was something to behold. I’m glad I wasn’t the only one. 🙂

  3. eljoe1235

    You still read too much to have any idea where you’re going. It’s not really that I’m any nicer than your Dad, just that I’m always driving. 😉

Leave a Reply

