Home again

I haven’t posted in a few days because I’ve been out of town.  My parents and hubby and I took a long weekend in St. Augustine, Florida.  It was wonderful.  St. Augustine is the oldest city in the United States.  When Joe and I went to England a couple of years ago, I was fascinated by all the history that people just take for granted.  I loved seeing a little of that in America too. 

My mom went to St. Augustine when she was a little girl with her parents, and she says the town hasn’t changed that much.  We drove past the old jail and briefly visited the Castillo de San Marcos.  The old downtown is so cute–lots of adorable little shops and places to eat terrific seafood.  We stayed near the beach for a couple of nights and got up early to walk on the sand.   It’s a beautiful beach.  The waves were high and, judging from the number of people attempting it, perfect for surfing.  I didn’t do anything more than use a boogie board, and nearly drowned doing that.  The waves had me doing underwater somersaults and scraping up my knees, and they swallowed my sunglasses.  But it was so much fun!

Besides the beach, my favorite stops were the Fountain of Youth and the old lighthouse.  Much of the Fountain of Youth tour was hilarious to me–the two-story globe and the planetarium show are very much relics of my mom’s youth.  But the grounds are pretty and the tour guide told us a lot of stuff I never learned in school.  For instance, after finding the Fountain, Ponce de Leon drank barrels of water from it, and bathed in it, and he ended up living around 30 years longer than other Spaniards of his era.  He died when he was shot in the leg with an arrow in a fight with natives.  He wore armor to protect his head and chest, but nothing to cover his lower body because his high rank allowed him to wear a very short skirt which he didn’t want to cover up.  Ah, vanity.  Maybe if he would have worn a longer skirt he would have lived forever.  We also got to drink water from the Fountain of Youth.  It’s disgusting–smells and tastes like old eggs.  I could only manage a sip, but the tour guide said that should get me thirty extra years.  We’ll see.

I would write more, but I have to unpack and do laundry.  I’ll be back with more tomorrow!

1 Comment

Filed under Travels

One response to “Home again

  1. eljoe1235

    Ponce de Leon was a weirdo. “Oh look, it’s a source of water. It must the fountain of youth.” He’s lucky he didn’t keel over dead on the spot.

    But it was much fun, as are you, and you have written about it well.

    Joe

Leave a Reply

